2022-04-15 03:59:56 UTC

This is to inform you that the Sri Lanka National Chess Championships 2022 (Open & women’s) will be held on 23rd, 24th 25th, 27th, 28th, 29th and 30th of April 2022 in Colombo. The events are 13 round, Round Robin events and the selection events for the Sri Lanka National Men & Women Teams for the FIDE Chess Olympiad 2022(Top five players) and the Asian Games 2022 (If the Olympic Committee confirms Chess I the team). 

The National Chess Champion, Susal De Silva and the SL Number 1 ranked (over 2300), Ranindu Dilshan Liyanage will play as direct entries in the Open event. Unfortunately, the Women’s National Chess Champion, Tharushi Niklesha and Harshana Thilakarathne (Over 2300) has withdrawn her from the right of play due to academic reasons. 

So, 1st twelve players of the Sri Lanka National (Premier Division) .hess Championship 2022 and the top 14 players of the Sri Lanka Women’s National (Premier Division) Chess Championship 2022 are eligible to play in the event. 

The Golden Jubilee Gift!
The Chess Federation of Sri Lanka has decided to increase the prize fund from 50% considering the CFSL Golden Jubilee this year. The following cash prizes with the Trophy and Medals will be awarded to the winners.

                                Men         Women
Champion         Rs. 150,000/= Rs. 100,000/=
1st Runner Up   Rs.   75,000/- Rs.   50,000/=
Third                  Rs.   40,000/- Rs.   30,000/=
Fourth                Rs.   20,000/- Rs.   15,000/=
Fifth                    Rs.   10,000/- Rs.      8,000/=

The Entry Fee
Entry Fee will be Rs. 5,000/= per each player as usual. All players should confirm your participation by 20th of April 2022 by paying the relevant entry fee to the below account and sending the name and FIDE ID with contact details and Bank slip to cfslchessevents@gmail.com.

A/C name - Chess Federation of Sri Lanka
A/C Number – 1560248301
Commercial Bank, City Office.

The exact venue will be informed soon. Players should report to the Chief Arbiter at 8.30 on 1st day.
Wish you all the best for the event!

Reigning National Chess Champions, Susal De silva and Niklesha Tharushi are in the pictures.

Powered by Froala Editor